Thursday, September 19, 2013

New Look Booker!

Wow!  The Booker Prize Trustees have announced that, as from next year, the prize will  be open to all English language writers!   That means that we might see books from the likes of Chad Harbach, Patrick DeWitt and Jonathan Franzen included.   The Chairman of the Trustees said 'we are abandoning the constraints of geography  and national boundaries'.   At the moment, the prize is confined to citizens of the Commonwealth and Ireland.   The rule that the books nominated must be published in the UK remains and judges will still be able to call books in that have not been submitted by their publishers.

No comments:

Post a Comment